Scotland Rugby League

Coordinated initially by England’s RFL, Scotland Rugby League was founded as a national governing body in 1994, five years after Aberdeen University formally introduced rugby league to the country. In 2008 the organisation was incorporated, as Scotland Rugby League Ltd.

The shareholders of Scotland Rugby League Ltd are its member clubs, which form the Scotland Rugby League Council responsible for electing the Board of Directors. The national sports authority Sportscotland, which has recognised SRL since 2000, is represented on the Board in an advisory, non-voting capacity.

There are four task groups responsible for various aspects of the sport in Scotland, all of which report to the Board. These are the National expansion Group [overseeing the development of the game at grass roots and club level]; the Performance Group [overseeing player performance]; Media and Commercial Group; Finance Group.

The Scottish Conference was created in 1997 and is now a fully integrated division in the RFL’s RL Conference. Internationally, Scotland debuted on the world stage at the 1995 Emerging Nations World Cup and SRL deploys national sides at Senior, 9's, Club XIII, Student, Wheelchair, U19 levels